St. George, Petroglyphs & Christmas With Friends

December 12 – 26, 2016

St. George was my next stop, and I learned that some of the friends I made at The Rubber Tramp Rendezvous in January 2016, were camped there. One had a job there, but was still living in his rig, and the other was doing a build-in for his new cargo trailer. Yes, right in the middle of the desert.

They invited me to camp with them, so I did. I didn’t know when I showed up that they would have every tool imaginable out there, so I got a few things done while I had two strong, able-bodied, and willing men around with a ton of tools. Thanks guys!

One day I went and explored The Little Black Mountain Petroglyph Site near St. George, (above) and on another day I hiked up Anasazi Ridge to look at more petroglyphs (below).

The glyphs here were quite fascinating. I’ve seen a lot of glyphs in Utah, and these were different so I found it very interesting.

To get to some of these glyphs you have to scramble down from the area where the glyphs are on the top of the hill, over the edge of the ridge into the boulders, then just explore.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $ OR ON THE HOME PAGE, I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. Please return here to enter Amazon each time you place an order, links are good for only 24-hours.

When I travel to new places I’m always on the lookout for a new place to call home base. My home base is currently Estes Park, CO, but I’ve been trying to get away from there and find a new residential town for many years now.

I was looking at St. George as a possibility, until I realized just how much it was going to grow over the next few years. There are new roads being built all around the city, and they are big, wide roads, that they call Parkways. Land is being cleared and prepared, new fire stations built and new power lines are going up. The growth here is going to be scary, and with it being so close to Las Vegas I have little doubt they will succeed. Already thousands of new homes have gone up on the outskirts of the town. Large, busy, towns and cities are not my thing, so I can cross St. George off my list of potential places.

I expect this valley will be full of new homes in the coming years. If not this one, there are plenty of other places the growth is happening.

It was getting very cold in St. George now, and there was snow on the distant peaks. I was ready to move on, but Christmas was just a few days away and I’d been invited to join my friends for Christmas. I don’t really celebrate Christmas, but after spending last Christmas all on my own in Sedona, I rather liked the idea of being with friends, with good food, drinks and playing games, so I decided to stay in St. George until after Christmas.

And I even got to see a Christmas Tree at Christmas.

DSC06656CMasPattiScott-618-Dec2016

I had a wonderful day with my friends. I’m not mentioning their names or sharing their pictures, because I’m not sure if they would appreciate that. I ate tons of food, and we played one of my favorite games Cards Against Humanity (you can purchase it from my Nomad Store $, just click the link). This game is not for those who are very sensitive. We were all worried that ‘Grandma’ might find it offensive, but she actually did better than the rest of us. She was a natural.

I’m so glad I stuck out the cold weather and stayed for Christmas, but it was time to leave. I left St. George on Boxing Day, and headed west and south.

I hope you have enjoyed this installment of my travels during the winter of 2016/2017, and hope you’ll continue the journey with me.

If you only get a notification of this one blog post, you may be unaware that I have many other categories and tons of travel posts available to read on my HOME page.

Please explore, share, sign up and leave a comment. Also please visit my YouTube Channel, which I’ve just organized into playlists and my Photography Store (30-day, 100% money-back guarantee).

Thanks for following me, and remember to keep searching outside the box.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature and Photographer at:

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com

http://NomadforNature.wordress.com

3 responses to “St. George, Petroglyphs & Christmas With Friends

  1. I lived in St George for about 2 years – homeless. I rented a storage unit ($60 a month) to sleep in at night (illegal) and to use as kind of an office during the day. I fell over on my bicycle near Santa Clara (northwest of St George) and broke my tipia bone. Stayed in my little tent for 2 months out on the desert while my leg healed. A lady who lived nearby brought me water and took me to town once a week to buy groceries (on food stamps). Rough way to live, that’s for sure.

    Like

      • Yes Roxy. When i reached the age of 62 (i am 68 now) i was able to apply for social security income ($686.00 a month) plus i make some cash with my websites: Approx. between $300 to $500,00 a month. I am living in a RV park in New Zealand up here in Whangarei (very quiet) and am able to meet my monthly expenses. I live in a small one room box (cabin). I have been here for over 4-1/2 years. I wished i could have stayed in the US, but life is a little better for me here. There are other issues too as to why i left the US, but it has worked out OK so far. So i am doing alright for now. gg

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

