Whitehouse Trail Head and Buckskin Gulch Video

December 10, 2016

I left Cottonwood Canyon late morning and considered driving to Kanab, but the boondocking spots around Kanab aren’t’ very interesting or pretty, so I opted to stay at Whitehouse Campground, 35-miles west of Page, on US 89, and do some exploring of the sandstone there. It is a two-mile drive into the campground from the highway.

Calling it a campground is a bit of a stretch. It’s actually a trail head with walk-in tent camp sites. The trailhead is used by people doing such hikes as Buckskin Gulch, and The Paria Canyon.

A few years back I did The Buckskin Gulch backpack trip with a friend, and we left our vehicle here and paid for a shuttle to the trail head at Wire Pass. Buckskin Gulch is thought to be the longest slot canyon in the world, and Backpacker Magazine named it the most dangerous hike in the United States.

I made a video of the hike down Buckskin Gulch and back up The Paria Canyon to our awaiting vehicle at Whitehouse. You can watch it on my YouTube Channel ~ Buckskin Gulch ~ Wire Pass to Paria Canyon.

As you can see, the colors in the rock at Whitehouse are incredible. I explored around there, and up a wash that is on the left about a quarter-mile or so before the campground.

There are a lot of these iron-like concretions on the slick rock up the wash, and further up there is a kind of slot canyon. It’s short and sweet, and fun to walk up and down.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $ OR THE LINK ON THE HOME PAGE I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. Please return here to enter Amazon each time you place an order, links are good for only 24-hours.

DSC06279Whitehouse-368-Dec10-2016

Naturally I had the entire place to myself, this being December, and I didn’t meet another person. In the spring and fall, this place is hustling though, so be warned.

The next day was my birthday, and I thought it would be nice to do something special. I had my mind set on a big whole-milk latte, if I could find a coffee shop in Kanab. It was also a Sunday, and many things close on Sunday’s in Utah.

By the way, I took some video of this Inner Wave, so sign up for my YouTube Channel, and when it get’s posted, you’ll get to see it in the video.

DSC06283BirthdayFire-372-Dec11-2016

I did manage to find a place for that latte, and learned that the grocery store in Kanab had free WiFi, so I sat in the parking lot and caught up on emails and stuff. For my birthday celebration I had a camp fire in a spot not far from The Best Friends Animal Society. It was a very sandy spot, because it’s close to The Coral Pink Sand Dunes. The most comforting part of my birthday evening was the fact that I could hear the dogs barking all night, and I was grateful to know that every one of them had been rescued and would probably find a new home.

I hope you have enjoyed this installment of my travels during the winter of 2016/2017, and hope you’ll continue the journey with me.

If you only get a notification of this one blog post, you may be unaware that I have many other categories and tons of travel posts available to read on my HOME page.

Please explore, share, sign up and leave a comment. Also please visit my YouTube Channel, which I’ve just organized into playlists and my Photography Store (30-day, 100% money-back guarantee).

Thanks for following me, and remember to keep searching outside the box.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature and Photographer at:

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com

http://NomadforNature.wordress.com

6 responses to “Whitehouse Trail Head and Buckskin Gulch Video

  1. Hi Roxy. Please keep blogging. I read every one. They remind me how much I like and admire you. Your commitment to immersion in nature is inspiring. Also your tolerance for cold and being where the large masses of folks aren’t.

    Like

  2. I read and am inspired, humbled, and entertained with every article you’ve written and shared! Being a part time single van traveler and explorer myself, your site is one of my faves. THANK YOU!

    Like

Leave a Reply

