March 2016-Part 4 ~ Desert Life in Pahrump, NV

The continuation of my travels in early 2016

After leaving Death Valley for the second time, I decided to spend a few days camping with friends in Pahrump, NV. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I found myself enjoying the desert here. It was spring after all, and the yucca were blooming, and the wildlife was out and about.

I found some of my new friends camped on the desert asphalt (legally), and we met up for a walk each evening before the sun set, and had a pizza party one evening. I saw my first desert tortoise, which basically looked like a moving rock from a distance, and a very young short-horned lizard.

After a couple of days near town, I decided to go a little higher in elevation to camp among the Joshua Trees. The view from up here was spectacular, and especially the sunsets. I could see the town of Pahrump, and in the distance there was Death Valley.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

I think I will return to Pahrump in the future, and learn more about the desert environment here. This was my first winter camping in this kind of desert, and I had a lot to learn. I look forward to learning more in future years.

I hope you have enjoyed these pictures, please share and like. To see the rest of my travels this year, just click on the 2016 category in the right column of the HOME page.

Until next time…keep an eye open for those moving rocks.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

Leave a Reply

