Byways

On September 22, 2014, I was finally driving up The Chief Joseph Highway in Wyoming (after attempting it a couple of years before, but unfortunately the road closed that very day). The Chief Joseph Highway (Wyoming 296) connects with The Beartooth Highway (Wyoming 212 ~ An All-American-Highway, and dubbed the most beautiful highway in America).

I had not done any research on either of these highways prior to my driving them. I knew they would be beautiful, and wild (grizzly bears), and high in altitude, and I had to get there before they closed for the winter, and that was all I needed to know. I wanted the element of surprise, and to have no idea what was around the next bend. I wanted to be Wowed!

And I was…

Sometimes pictures speak louder than words. I don’t have many pictures of Chief Joseph Highway because the lighting wasn’t conducive to good photography, but I do have some of The Beartooth Highway. If you want to experience the Beartooth yourself without knowing what to expect, then don’t scroll down any further. Just get in your car, and go and see the highway for yourself.

However, if you are tied to your job and home, and are therefore an armchair traveler, please enjoy…

 

Learn more here

Chief Joseph HighwayChief Jospeh HighwayChief Joseph HighwayChief Joseph HighwayChief Joseph HighwayChief Joseph HighwayChief Joseph Highway

HERE ARE A FEW FROM THE BEARTOOTH HIGHWAY…

Why do people always have to shoot at signs?Mountain goats on the tundraBeartooth Highway

Well ~ I’d say it was worth the drive here…. wouldn’t you?

In fact, I loved it so much, I did it twice.

Then I headed into Yellowstone National Park.

 

I love this lifestyle…

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

One response to “Byways

  1. Pingback: Feb 2016–Part 1 ~ Sonny Bono & Anza Borrego | Nomad for Nature·

Leave a Reply

