Eclipse of the Moon

NomadforNature.wordpress.com

 

It was September 27, 2015, and I could see the skies from Mitzi’s window (My home is a Mitsubishi Montero Sport), clouds drifted by, and I didn’t think I’d get a chance to see the eclipse but kept hoping. I was in the mountains of Colorado at the time near Estes Park, and I’d parked Mitzi in a meadow by a friends house, in a nice dark section so I wouldn’t have any light pollution from nearby homes distracting my view.

 

As the moon rose I watched from inside Mitzi’s warmth. My camera was set up outside on a tripod, and ready to go.

 

Then there was a glimmer of hope, a slight break in the clouds just big enough to reveal the red moon, and I jumped out and started to take shots. It was so beautiful, and I kept on watching for the next hour or so as the moon drifted behind patchy clouds. My neck grew stiff from watching the entire thing, until there was no shadow left to see on my occasional night-time companion.

 

NomadforNature.wordpress.com

 

I feel truly lucky to have so many opportunities to see the night skies. Living in my vehicle means that I’m rarely in an area that has much light pollution (I prefer to live away from cities) and all I have to do to see the stars is open my eyes, tilt my head to the left and look out of my window. I don’t even have to get out of my sleeping bag.

 

The stars are my wallpaper and my night light. When the moon is up I have a companion that warms my night with a friendly glow, and enhances the beauty of nature around my home, making cooking, camp fires and other activities very pleasant.

 

Here is a poem I wrote called Walking in Darkness that you might enjoy.

 

~ ~ ~

 

Wishing you many a moon-lit night…

 

Roxy ~ a Nomad for Nature

 

 

NomadForNature.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

