Chiricahua Mountains, AZ

March 6 – March 14, 2017

After visiting Bisbee, I decided to head over to the Chiricahua Mountains, which are in the south-eastern most corner of Arizona. This mountain range is very interesting because it is located in four different life zones. The monument hosts a biological crossroads, a meeting place of four different ecological regions. In the Chiricahua Mountains, the Sonoran and Chihuahuan deserts, and the Rocky Mountain and Sierra Madre ranges all meet. The convergence of these four biomes makes this area unusually rich in both floral and faunal biodiversity. Chiricahua is at the southern end of the Rocky Mountains, so the Rocky Mountain representatives such as the Ponderosa pine and Engelmann spruce co-exist beside the Soaptree yucca from the Chihuahuan desert. Stately Arizona sycamore and various types of oak dot the well-watered canyons. Apache pine grows here at the most northern end of the Sierra Madre range. Chihuahua pine is found, as are Douglas and White fir, Arizona cypress, Cane cholla, Prickly pear and more.

It had been quite some time since I’d seen trees, so camping among oak and other trees felt like a treat. I went for a walk one afternoon, but the terrain was not ankle friendly, so I didn’t cover much ground. I hiked up to a ridge that turned out to be conglomerate rock. I also found other interesting rocks in the area.

I made a video of my time in the Chiricahuas. You can watch it here: Chiricahua Mountains and National Monument on YouTube.

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

On my third night, I camped by a creek. The sound of running water was elixir to my ears after such a long time in the desert south.

I spent two more nights by another creek not far from The Chiricahua National Monument. I went hiking in the monument twice, and I’ll share those pictures in my next post.

I spent a total of nine days in the Chiricahua Mountains because it was so beautiful and diverse, and the temperatures were just about perfect. If you are into plants and wildlife, I highly recommend this very interesting area. In my next post, I’ll be sharing some hikes I did in the Chiricahua National Monument, The Land of Standing Upright Rocks!

I hope you have enjoyed this instalment of my travels during the winter of 2016/2017, and hope you’ll continue the journey with me. Please visit the HOME page to find more articles, and feel free to share, sign up and leave a comment. Also please visit my YouTube Channel. Until next time…remember to step outside of your comfort zone as often as possible and watch it grow.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

LIKE THIS CONTENT? ENJOYING MY POSTS? HERE ARE THREE WAYS YOU CAN HELP TO SUPPORT THIS BLOG:

1. You can help to keep me fueled up by buying me a cup of coffee. It’s easy, just click the link and see how easy it is.

2. You can use this Amazon Link whenever you want to make a purchase on Amazon (or the one on my HOME page). The link is good for 24-hours only.

3. You can purchase an image, card, tote bag, t-shirt or other items from my photography store at Tranquil Light Photography.com (or share the web page on your favorite social platform).

_DSC9030 (2)[5]

This blog: http://NomadforNature.wordress.com/

4 responses to “Chiricahua Mountains, AZ

Leave a Reply

