Q–Would You Start Doing Vlogs Please?

Occasionally I get asked by people if I would consider doing Vlogs in place of, or in addition to my blog. In this post, I attempt to answer that question.

YouTube

I know there are a LOT of Nomads, Vandwellers, and Rubber Tramps that post videos of their life on the road on a weekly or even daily basis in the form of Vlogs (Video Blogs). Some of them are very informational and helpful, and some are just pure entertainment.

A number of my readers have asked if I would consider doing Vlogs of my life, and I’ve given it some serious thought because once a Vlogger has a lot of YouTube followers, they can actually make fairly good money off the advertising on YouTube. Most of the videos I currently make take about 15-hours to produce on average, excluding the actual recording time out in the field (I add a lot of images and have to do a lot of editing because of all those video snippets), and it would be nice to get a bit of money in exchange for all that time and effort.

So I tried making a couple of the types of video’s that gain a lot of followers and are a bit quicker to produce and ultimately came to the conclusion that it’s just not for me. I simply don’t have the right personality for it and I just don’t feel inspired to record my personal life on a daily basis and share it with the world (I’m a bit of a wallflower, but I’m happy to share my life in my blog on my own terms).

I feel that having to produce videos on a regular basis instead of (or in addition to) my blog, would detract from the time I spend outdoors enjoying nature. Videos are demanding, those who do this say it’s like feeding a monster that has a bottomless pit in place of its stomach, they are constantly trying to fill its demand for more. Some say it can become overwhelming and exhausting, yet they are not able to back off or stop. Their followers expect more, more, more, and if you depend on the income from it, then it becomes a job rather than a lifestyle, and others say it even ruins things for them because their life is no longer their own, instead, it is just one big production.

I also decided that I don’t want to become part of that whole scene where Vloggers are talked about, criticized, or ridiculed by mystery voices or puppets who share the latest news about the most popular (usually through some kind of drama) Nomad and Rubber Tramps Vlogs of the week. I sometimes enjoy watching those shows, but I don’t want to be in them.

I realize that people prefer to watch video’s these days because it’s much easier to watch a video on a small electrical device (and more entertaining) than to read a post, but I don’t want to put myself in a position where I HAVE to do a video because I’m expected to. In order to keep the followers I have on my blog I need to produce posts regularly, but if I choose to drop out of society for a while, I can prepare my posts ahead of time and set them up to post automatically on a set date. This frees me up to take some time-out if I wish. I like that. I realize I’ll never be popular and get huge amounts of followers, but I’ve accepted that. After all, I live this lifestyle so I can live on my terms as much as possible, and not the terms of others, and I share it with hopes that my stories will help to inspire and encourage others.

That’s not to say that I’m not going to make any video’s at all. I really enjoyed making the ones I’ve made so far and will make more. They just won’t be Vlogs. My videos are far from perfect because I don’t have the tools to do it right (as yet), but they are still watchable (if you can handle a wobble while I walk, without getting sea-sick)…haha!

Because I’m a nature lover, my video’s are about nature and hiking and exploring and camping (mostly) in peaceful places, and of course include some of my photography. These are not adrenaline pumped big wall climbing video’s, or fast-paced sliding and swimming through slot canyons, or scary-looking jumps off cliffs…nope, they are just the wanderings of a middle-aged woman who’s usually on her own, who wants to share her love of nature and travel and hopefully encourage others to get out more and find the courage to go it alone if you have no-one to go with. These videos are not going to draw thousands of followers because they are not controversial, or adrenaline-pumped, or rowdy or violent, or even informational (well, most aren’t) or any of those things that society feeds on these days. (eg. My First Time Parking Overnight in a Walmart Parking Lot video got 336 views and Exploring Whitney Pockets got 35 views as of this date. I think you get the picture). Besides, I think there are enough Vloggers covering their everyday lives now to satisfy the masses, do you really need another one?

I’m not trying to discourage you here, quite the opposite. If you like to enjoy the outdoors and the Nomadic lifestyle on a calmer scale, then you may enjoy my videos.

Here is a sampling of some video’s I’ve posted recently:

Wire Pass to Buckskin Gulch (a Slot Canyon Hike)

Hiking in Cathedral Wash, Vermilion Cliffs, AZ (Not just a walk)

The Chiricahua Mountains and National Monument (Incredible)

Exploring Whitney Pockets and Gold Butte Nevada (Which became a National Monument while I was there)

The White Rim Trail – Canyonlands National Park, Island in the Sky (4×4 required)

Five Palms Hot Springs and Stuck in Sand (Relaxing)

San Raphael Swell to Valley of the Gods (A Day in the Life of a Nomad)

Boynton Canyon Didgeridoo Healing – Sedona, AZ (Didgeridoo!!!)

Herd of Elk in Rocky Mountain National Park Crossing the Big Thompson River (Beautiful)

Images of Rocky Mountain National Park (Some of my images)

There are lots more…here is a link to My Channel: Nomad for Nature and Tranquil Light Photography, I hope you’ll visit, sign up, share, and of course, leave a comment.

I realize that this is an odd post, but I decided to write it so that I could just direct any future questions of this nature to here, because the explanation as to why I’m not doing Vlogs a little too long winded to write out every time, and I feel I owe my followers more than a simple “I don’t want to.”

So that’s all for now. Until next time, remember to step outside of the box, because each time you do, it becomes easier.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature.

LIKE THIS CONTENT? ENJOYING MY POSTS? HERE ARE THREE WAYS YOU CAN HELP TO SUPPORT THIS BLOG:

1. You can help to keep me fueled up by buying me a cup of coffee. It’s easy, just click the link and see how easy it is.

2. You can use this Amazon Link whenever you want to make a purchase on Amazon (or the one on my HOME page). The link is good for 24-hours only.

3. You can purchase an image, card, tote bag, t-shirt or other items from my photography store at Tranquil Light Photography.com (or share the web page on your favorite social platform).

Image

This blog: http://NomadforNature.wordress.com/

14 responses to “Q–Would You Start Doing Vlogs Please?

  1. I’m a fan of the written word & pictures, when I’m on the road bandwidth is limited & videos take bandwidth.
    Keep writing & I’ll keep reading!

    Like

  2. I enjoy your blog and videos because they do not feel like your ‘job’. And because they are nature centered. And because they are quiet and beautiful.

    Like

  3. I must admit, I like to have blogs to read as well as watching some Vlogs. Im following yourself and another RV blog, as well as following some of the RV Vlogs. I’m glad you’ve decided to prioritise this blog as I enjoy your writing and photos very much.

    Like

  4. Excellent post Roxy. I really enjoyed it. Plus i learned something. I have made a few simple videos and even simple videos are time consuming to make. Maybe making “Postcard” type blog entries and/or videos would be helpful to you & me. Over 5 years ago i used to make (for me) good money with my online stuff – but now almost dead. Some people do videos just for fun.
    Nowadays too many people – too much competition on the internet. Harder to make money.

    Like

    • Hi Roxy,
      I I can understand your quandary with the video content. There is one other option that I do Love and I’m not sure if you are aware of it yet. I have a friend in the Philippines with a video channel. he also has a channel that is audio only. It would be my guess that would entail little to no editing. The name of his channel is Reekay Radio. I just checked and you can Google it. It may be worth your while to give it a spin and see if it might be something you may be interested in. I do have ulterior motives since with your lovely voice, I could listen to you read the phone book and enjoy it. Peace, Russ~*

      Like

  5. Well said. Although I do videos, I have few “subscribers or followers” and the works is ultimately just my fun. I understand why you wish to avoid the big time vlog world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

