Silent Snow ~ A Poem

Snow in the Mountains

Tires crunched on crystalline stars,

as I drove into the park,

with no need for headlights,

the snow was so bright in the moonlight.

~

Standing at an overlook by the road,

I found the ticking of the cooling engine annoying,

so I walked up the abandoned road,

until the noise faded from earshot and there was only silence.

Such silence.

~

With breath held, I listened,

but could only hear the pounding of my own heart.

No patter of feet,

no song of night birds,

no wind or breeze to disturb the air.

Such stillness.

~

The chill I felt was not from the cold,

for strangely, I felt warm,

with the clouds holding in the heat from the earth,

and blocking the sounds of life.

Nothing.

~

I clicked my fingers to ensure I had not gone deaf,

Is this what deafness is like, I wondered.

A feeling of detachment from the world,

fearful of the noise I made by standing still.

~

I felt as though I were trespassing,

unwanted,

out of place.

The silence pressed on my heart,

squeezed it tight.

Such intense beauty.

~

Unease settled like lead,

so I returned to the welcome ticking of my car.

~

By Roxy Whalley – December 2005

All rights reserved

Note*

I remember this night very well. There was a full moon, and it was so big and bright that headlamps really were not needed, in fact, I could see better without them. I did not see another vehicle or sign of life. Any life. It was so very, very, cold, and clear, and still. I felt as though I were the only person on the planet. Not a sound penetrated this beauty, no matter how hard I strained my ears. Nothing.

LIKE THIS CONTENT? ENJOYING MY POSTS? 

Image

This blog: http://NomadforNature.wordress.com/

2 responses to “Silent Snow ~ A Poem

  1. I just printed your poem to read to writing group on a lead I’m working on called “awe.” Never heard a better example of awe. Wonderful poem. Also, have enjoyed all your recent blogs and pics. Looking forward to seeing you sometime in May. Lugs – ANNE

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

