Kofa National Wildlife Refuge

February 14 – 17, 2017

It was time to say goodbye (for now) to my nomad friends in Ehrenberg, and continue to explore some parts of Arizona that I’d never been to before. I’m not one for traveling great distances in a day if I don’t have to, so I only got as far as Kofa National Wildlife Refuge after leaving Ehrenberg. The Kofa NWR is about 25-miles south of Quartzsite, along Hwy 95. It is a popular place to visit because of a very short and sweet hike there called Palm Canyon. There are other areas of this refuge that I haven’t investigated yet, but maybe I will another year. I spent two nights at Kofa, and did the Palm Canyon hike again and explored off trail a bit. The view in the image at the top of this post is from my little walk off trail.

The desert foliage and cacti here are very abundant, probably because it’s been protected for a number of years now and has been allowed to grow. However, it wasn’t always that way, because it used to be a proving ground for the air force. Occasionally an unexploded bomb or rocket will be found here, and authorities have to come and take care of it. Be careful where you tread, and never touch anything that looks out of place.

I love the backlighting on the cacti in this shot.

Look at the color change on the mountains here, I love sunsets.

While at the Kofa NWR, I did my first check in on the Spot GEN3 Personal Locator Beacon I’m testing. You can check out where I’ve been by visiting here: MY ADVENTURE. Feel free to follow my trip if you wish. It’s pretty cool to look at these places with a satellite view in addition to my photography.

After Kofa, I decided to head to Yuma. On the drive there I heard that high winds were expected, which was probably meant that there would be a dust storm. I decided to go to Fortuna Pond to sit it out. I recalled there were some trees on one side of the pond, and I hoped to get shelter from the wind there, at least a little bit.

After the sand storm, it rained for a whole night and day. I moved out of the trees once the wind died down, so I could get a better Verizon signal, and play online until the storm passed. This is what Studley’s roof looked like afterward. It took a couple of car washes to get this off the roof. I had to crack my windows a bit during the sand storm, and everything inside was layered in fine sand. I hate sand and dust storms, they are worse than snow and rain for sure.

I’ll share images of Fortuna Pond in my next post.

I hope you have enjoyed this installment of my travels during the winter of 2016/2017, and hope you’ll continue the journey with me. Please visit the HOME page to find more articles, and feel free to share, sign up and leave a comment. Also please visit my YouTube Channel.

Until next time…remember to step outside of your comfort zone as often as possible.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

LIKE THIS CONTENT? ENJOYING MY POSTS? HERE ARE THREE WAYS YOU CAN HELP TO SUPPORT THIS BLOG:

1. You can help to keep me fueled up by buying me a cup of coffee. It’s easy, just click the link and see how easy it is.

2. You can use this Amazon Link whenever you want to make a purchase on Amazon (or the one on my HOME page). The link is good for 24-hours only.

3. You can purchase an image, card, tote bag, t-shirt or other items from my photography store at Tranquil Light Photography.com (or share the web page on your favorite social platform).

This blog: http://NomadforNature.wordress.com

3 responses to “Kofa National Wildlife Refuge

  1. Great and Excellent Work. As an Photographer i can understand how much efforts and patience are needed to capture nature in our clicks. I started Photography to inspire others to have a look at beautiful nature and now i am trying to share my work with photographers at https://www.behance.net/NitinKhannaOR so that they could learn. Have a look on my work and let me know how is it

    Like

Leave a Reply

