Lake Mead to Havasu City

New Years Day ~ January 1 – January 3, 2017

On New Year’s Day I camped by Lake Mead at a spot called Stewarts Point. There was plenty of boondocking here, but there was a lot of mud because of all the rain we’d had a few nights before. I didn’t want to get stuck, so I carefully chose a spot that had a great view, but was far enough from other people so I wouldn’t hear their generators, but not so far in that I might have to deal with mud.

An Invasion of Silence and Privacy

I drove there in the morning and I was looking forward to a lovely peaceful day, far from other campers. So when I heard a very loud noise coming towards me, and then hovering over me, I was a little bit miffed.

Now there is a part of me that likes drones, but there is another part that hates them. This was one of the hate times. The noise was invasive, and the fact that this drone was coming by my camp and recording my activities, was also an invasion of my privacy. If I’d wanted to sun bathe naked, thinking I was in a private spot for it, I wouldn’t have felt comfortable doing it with a drone hovering over me. If I’d wanted to sit outside and read, the noise would have disturbed my thinking process.

Our world has reached a point where not only is it almost impossible to escape man-made noise, but now our privacy has been taken away entirely when we are outdoors, and not only by the government, but by any person who owns a drone.

I recall one time last year when I had to pee badly, and the pit toilets were closed for the season. I went off into the shrubbery a good distance away thinking I was okay, because there was no one around for as far as I could see. However, I then heard a noise coming towards me, and it was a drone checking me out! I was horrified. I got pee on my underwear because I had to pull them up so quickly. This is a new aspect of society that I’m struggling to accept. I have no choice of course, drones are being sold in Walmart now, so pretty soon most kids will have one, but I’m not accepting this new invasion graciously.

On January 2nd I took a leisurely drive down Hwy 169, which goes down the west side of the Lake Mead National Recreation Area.

This drive is a geological smorgasbord and I wanted to go and explore but the wind was too brutal. I could barely hold onto the door when I opened it, so I just drove.

I stopped at Lake Mead Visitor Center to inquire about a spot for the night. I knew there was one near here, but I couldn’t remember the exact road. It was Kingman Wash, so I drove in there for the night. It’s a bit of a narrow, bumpy road, and I wouldn’t recommend it with a much larger rig, or one without high clearance.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $ OR ON THE HOME PAGE, I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. Please return here to enter Amazon each time you place an order, links are good for only 24-hours.

The next day (January 3, 2017) I’d considered hiking to some hot springs, but once again the wind was brutal, and it was overcast and cold. It looked like rain. A seven mile hike didn’t seem so appealing given the weather. I ended up just driving onward, down Hwy 93 to Kingman.

Then I saw on the map that Havasu National Wildlife Refuge wasn’t far away, and thought it would be nice to spend a night there.

When I got there the road was closed due to flooding, so I drove all the way around the refuge to go in from the north. However, I then learned that the free camping wasn’t that great, and I think the campgrounds were closed also, so I decided to continue towards Havasu City instead.

I found my camp spot for the night on Free Campsites.net.

I spent a few days in Havasu City, and will continue with that in my next installment (Part 12).

I hope you have enjoyed this installment of my travels during the winter of 2016/2017, and hope you’ll continue the journey with me.If you only get an email notice of this one blog post, you may be unaware that I have many other categories and tons of travel posts available to read on my HOME page.

Please explore, share, sign up and leave a comment. Also please visit my YouTube Channel, which I’ve just organized into playlists, and my Photography Store (30-day, 100% money-back guarantee).

Thanks for following me, and remember to keep searching outside the box.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature and Photographer at:

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com

http://NomadforNature.wordress.com

Leave a Reply

