Flying a Hawk, Water Pockets and Sunsets In Page, AZ

December 3 – 9, 2016

I’ve grown rather fond of Page, AZ. The spot I camp has phenomenal views, and just a short drive from town, and McDonalds (for internet access). Some of you might recognize this spot, and to date I’ve never been told I can’t camp here, however, I’m usually only there during the evenings. I’ve been told by some Nomads that they have been told they can’t camp there, I think those that have been asked to leave are perhaps those that set up a permanent camp and stay there throughout the day. Leaving during the day time as I usually do means that I’m not seen by most of the rangers and officials, because most only work during the days. I doubt this is every case, but I think this is one of the reasons I’ve never, as yet, been asked to move on from anywhere.

When I was camping in Utah at The Rainbow Cliffs (Old Paria Townsite) in April 2016, I met some people who lived in Page, AZ., and I got in touch with them. They invited me over for dinner and to meet Jango, their Harris Hawk. After meeting Jango, and looking deep into his eyes while he was feeding while perched on my hand in his shelter at their home, I begged them to let me go out with him into the wilds and see him fly free.

A few days later we drove out to a place the locals new about that had quite literally thousands of water pockets in the sandstone dunes. However, before we went exploring, we took Jango hunting. He was released by his owner, and set free. I had food in my fingers, and called Jango over. Watching him swoop in from far away was quite exhilarating. He dipped low, and was so fast I was almost caught off guard. Hawks are magnificent birds, and having one sit on my hand was one of the most thrilling experiences ever. Jango didn’t stay on my hand for long, he was out there to hunt for rabbits or hares, and was eager to catch his own food rather than eat some piece of meat from the freezer.

Jango the Hawk on My Hand

Jango is being trained to hunt for himself, and when he is good enough to guarantee survival, he will be released by his owner.

This was one of those unexpected and thrilling surprise happenings that came about because I travel. I never would have had this experience if I’d still been in Colorado, because I never would have met these wonderful and very interesting people, and therefore would not have met Jango.

Above, are some of the interesting formations created by rain and wind in the area we were exploring. Some of the water pockets were very deep, and one had to step carefully.

I also camped at Lone Rock Beach, west of Page, just into Utah. There is boon docking right on the beach here, and because it was now December the place was almost empty of other campers.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. Please return here to enter Amazon each time you place an order, links are good for only 24-hours.

I have another story about camping in Page near the dam…you can read it here: The Choice to be Free ~ A Visit from a Like Soul.

I hope you have enjoyed part three of my travels during the winter of 2016/2017.

If you only get a notification of this one blog post, you may be unaware that I have many other categories and tons of travel posts available to read on my HOME page.

Please explore, share, sign up and leave a comment. Also please visit my YouTube Channel, which I’ve just organized into playlists and my Photography Store (30-day, 100% money-back guarantee).

Thanks for following me, and remember to keep searching outside the box.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature, and Photographer (www.TranquilLightPhotography.com)

http://NomadforNature.wordress.com

One response to “Flying a Hawk, Water Pockets and Sunsets In Page, AZ

Leave a Reply

