Six Months of Travel for Under $3,000 Including Food and Gas!

This is the final post about my travels during the winter of 2015/2016.

If you have been following my posts, you’ll know about all the places I traveled between November 2015 and May 2016, but just in case, here is a summary:

A Stormy Start November 2015 – The Snowy Range, Hobo Hot Springs, Dinosaur National Monument, Rabbit Valley

A Nomadic November 2015 – Moab, Arches National Park, The Needles,

December Part 1 – The Needles, Moab again, Escalante, Bryce, Kanab

December Part 2 – Kanab & Page, AZ Toadstools, Driving an Inland Sea,  Wupatki NM, Christmas & New Year in Sedona, AZ, Vortex, UFO’s and more…

Jan 2016 – V-Bar-V Heritage Site, Verde Hot Springs, Sedona, Tuzihoot National Monument, Prescott, Rubber Tramp Rendezvous in Quartzsite, Ehrenberg, Cibola National Wildlife Refuge, Fortuna Pond, and Slab City.

Feb 2016 – Slab City, Sonny Bono, Anza Borrego, Joshua Tree, Death Valley National Park during the Super bloom, Alabama Hills, CA.

March 2016 – Eastern Sierra Mountains, CA., Snow Storms, Tufas & Craters, Pinnacles, Death Valley again, Pahrump NV, Lake Mead,  Kolob Terrace, UT, Zion, and The Spectacular WAVE ~~

April & early May 2016 – Utah again, Escalante, Kanab, Page, and travels back to Colorado…

And of course… everything in-between!

Almost six months of traveling, and around 3,800 miles.

What would you expect to spend on a six-month vacation, including accommodation, food, and gasoline?

Well, I spent around $2,850.00! and that included food, accommodation, gasoline (petrol) and vehicle maintenance, soaks in hot springs, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, tons of hiking and exploring, and lots of visits to coffee shops for internet and a bit of company. It didn’t include auto insurance though, I keep that bill separate and try to have that money set aside six-months ahead of when it’s due.

Does $3,000 (I’ll round it up for ease) sound like a lot of money? Let’s divide that into six (for six months). That means I spent a little under $500 a month, for everything.

That is far less than the average person spends on rent alone, and despite all that travel I probably put less miles on my vehicle than I would living in one place for six-month, driving to and from work, doctors, shopping, driving to trail heads and so on.

So you may be wondering how I could possibly do all that traveling and have all those experiences for under $500 a month.

Its’ simple, I chose to have Experiences Instead of Things.

Every time I wanted something I didn’t need, I’d ask myself “Do you want that bag of potato chips or a gallon of gasoline?”

If I saw a nice jacket in the thrift store for $8.00, I compared it with three gallons of gasoline. Three gallons of petrol, could take me sixty miles.

SIXTY MARVELOUS MILES!

Oh my goodness! Think of all the wonderful things you can see and do in sixty miles. If you only travel 8-miles on day one, then park for the night (free camping of course, everything is budget-oriented in this lifestyle) and explore that area, you will get one more sunrise and one more sunset, one more milky-way sighting or moon rise, and see many other wonders of nature. You might make one more friend, see one more rare bird, or learn something about geology you didn’t know. You may see one or more new horizons, and you may travel a road you’ve never been on before. You might even end up staying there for another night or two. And there are still 52-miles left…who knows what is around the next bend, down that dirt two-track, or over that next hill. What wonders does that river hold? what secrets do those cracks in the rock hide? Oooooohhhh, a few gallons of gasoline and some free time opens up a world of possibilities. I get tingles at the thought of 8-gallons of gas, can you imagine the glow I feel when I have a FULL tank! Smile

Ghost Falls

There is one thing I can promise you; doing without becomes easier the more you do it. The more you do without, the more you realize how little you really need in life to be content, or even happy.

With the exception of necessities, when I have to choose between things or experiences; having experiences will always win!

This concludes my travels during the winter of 2015/2016…I hope you have enjoyed traveling with me during this period of time. If you’d like to see my previous posts, you can find them in the categories section in the right column on my HOME page. I also share some of my travels on my YouTube Channel. Please feel free to comment and share, share, share in any way you choose.

Until next time…I’m putting experiences ahead of things…I promise.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

4 responses to “Six Months of Travel for Under $3,000 Including Food and Gas!

  1. Pingback: Leaving Estes in November 2017 (Winter 2016/17 Part 1) | Nomad for Nature·

  2. Pingback: The Summer of 2016 | Nomad for Nature·

  3. Roxy, you are an inspiration to me! I have been taking some road trips in my minivan with the idea that I might live in it part time. Every time I think it might be better to get an RV I remember you and think, “if she can do it, I can do it!”. The freedom of needing less appeals to me. Thanks for sharing your experience!

    Like

  4. I agree. Doing without broadens horizon. You journey and photos was amazing to witness through your post. We are all wondering if you go back to your regular life or run away and experience more?

    Like

Leave a Reply

