March 2016-Part 6 ~ Kolob Terrace Road, Zion N.P. Utah

Back in October 2007, a dear friend introduced me to the delights of Utah when we hiked out to The Great Gallery west of Canyonlands National Park. I fell in love with red rock country, and it’s slot canyons and towering cliffs, and since then I’d spent most of my springs and summers traveling and exploring Utah. (I started my Nomadic life back in 2004, in Oregon and Washington). I have many favorite camping areas all over southern Utah, and when I visit one it usually makes me feel like I’m coming home (link), so after traveling to new areas through the winter of 2015/2016, it felt like I was coming home when I was back in red rock country.

Because it was still March I thought that I’d be able to drive up Zion Canyon, but the National Park Service had started closing the canyon to vehicles at the end of February, due to the huge influx of visitors in the past couple of years. I was told that it might be closed to vehicles year-round if visitation continues the way it has.

I wasn’t quite ready to get on a shuttle bus with a hundred other people just yet, and hike trails where one couldn’t get a moments silence, so I decided to check out Kolob Terrace Road instead. There is free camping here, which you can learn about at FreeCampsites.net. I did some hiking, and watched some lizards doing a mating dance. It was quite fascinating really.

The Mating Dance of Lizards

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

Zion-035-KolobTerraceRd

I spent three nights camped along this road in the dispersed camping area, while I visited Zion.

To see the rest of my posts on my travels in the winter of 2015/2016 and previous posts, please visit the HOME page, and choose a category in the right hand column.

Please sign up to receive notifications of future blog posts, and feel free to like and share this post.

I’m getting close to the end of my travels in early 2016…only one more month to go, but what a month it was!

Until next time, be sure to keep looking for roads you’ve never travelled before.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for nature

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

One response to “March 2016-Part 6 ~ Kolob Terrace Road, Zion N.P. Utah

  1. Pingback: Zion National Park–(Winter 2016/17 Part 7) | Nomad for Nature ~ A Travel & Photography Blog·

Leave a Reply

