March 2016-Part 2 ~ Tufas, Craters and Geological Wonders

 

This is the continuation of my travels in early 2016.

After leaving Bishop, CA, I decided to drive north up the Owens Valley a little further. It was cold and snowy at those higher elevations, and finding camp spots wasn’t easy as most of the roads into public lands were closed.

I visited Mono Lake, which was truly fascinating, and I felt a bit as though I were at the seaside because of the salty water.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

 

I also visited Panum Crater, which I found to be VERY interesting indeed. Volcanoes fascinate me, and this crater didn’t disappoint.

Traveling becomes even more interesting when one takes the time to learn the geology of the area you’re passing though. There is little doubt that driving through some landscapes can be very boring, but it helps to learn how the rocks, mountains, rolling hills, badlands or whatever terrain you might be driving through were formed. I personally find it hard to look at a landscape in the same light once I’ve learned a bit about the geology behind it. It’s very complex, and often has a few surprises one wouldn’t expect.

I stare at rocks a lot, always looking for something a little out of place with them, a change in color, a new layer, a dip, and uplift, or a fault, then I try to learn about it at the next visitor center, town, book shop, or online.

That night I managed to find some camping near the Hot Creek Geological Site. I had a pretty awesome view, and an exploratory walk around camp produced some fascinating rock specimens.

I visited the geological site in the morning, and was amazed to see my first drone. It was very loud, and quite big, and it was patrolling the hot springs because bathing was prohibited due to changes in the way the springs had been acting. Apparently some of the fissures were opening up, and on occasion a burst of exceedingly hot water and steam could erupt, and actually cook a person to death.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about the drone patrolling the area. I didn’t have a problem with it down in the geological site (though it interrupted my moment of silent meditation), but it came up to the picnic area where I was making breakfast in the parking lot, and I felt as though I was being spied on (well…I was), and that my privacy was invaded. It crossed my mind that a person wouldn’t be able to pee behind a bush in privacy soon, it unnerved me a little bit.

I returned to Bishop for a couple of days, and soaked in The Ditch one more time, and finally decided it was time to start heading east once more. So I retraced my steps and drove south, and camped at Fossil Falls. It was threatening rain and snow, and the clouds created some beautiful lighting. I walked to the falls, which were mostly dry, but it was a lovely little campground, that was free and included picnic tables and a pit toilet nearby.

I hope you have enjoyed these images. Please hover over them to see what they are.

If you wish to learn more about the places I visited, please click on the links embedded into this post.

My travels continue…please join me, and feel free to like and share this post or my blog, or visit my photography web site at www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

Until next time…remember to stare at rocks Smile.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

2 responses to “March 2016-Part 2 ~ Tufas, Craters and Geological Wonders

Leave a Reply

