March 2016–Part 1 ~ Eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains

I made a video of my time in The Alabama Hills along the Sierra Nevada Mountains, and some other places I camped during my stay there.

If you’d like to view it click here: Nomadic Sierra Nevada Spring 2016. To learn what the images are of, hover over them.

 

This is a continuation of my travels in early 2016.

 

After leaving Lone Pine CA. I visited a few places on my way north.

 

It is one of those places you show great respect, and question the human race and our astounding ability to be cruel to our own kind.

I found some wonderful free camping by a bubbling brook and slept like a baby, and look at those views as I drove a little further north up the Owens Valley, which really is breathtaking, with mountain ranged on both sides. This is one of the deepest valleys in the US.

Copy/pasted from Wikipedia: The Owens Valley is the arid valley of the Owens River in eastern California in the United States, to the east of the Sierra Nevada and west of the White Mountains and Inyo Mountains on the west edge of the Great Basin section. The mountain peaks on either side (including Mount Whitney) reach above 14,000 feet (4,300 m) in elevation, while the floor of the Owens Valley is at 4,000 feet (1,200 m), making the valley one of the deepest in the United States.[2] The Sierra Nevada casts the valley in a rain shadow, which makes Owens Valley “the Land of Little Rain.”[3] The bed of Owens Lake, now a predominantly dry endorheic alkali flat, sits on the southern end of the valley. The valley provides water to the Los Angeles Aqueduct, the source of half of the water for Los Angeles, and is infamous as the scene of one of the fiercest and longest running episodes of the California Water Wars. (It’s that big dry lake shown in my previous blog post, about the Alabama Hills).

I decided to visit The Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest while I was so close, which is near Bishop. It was a steep and long drive up, and it was hot. But when I got within a mile or two of the park there was snow and the road was closed, so I put on my backpack and walked it, pretty much post holing most of the way.

I met a really nice older man also walking up, and he was huffing and puffing like crazy. The altitude here was around 10,000 feet, and I was very concerned for him, so I decided to hike with him just in case. We explored several of the trees together, and I went a little higher than him, but I didn’t want to leave him alone for long so never made it to Methuselah.

The trees of the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest in the White Mountains are the oldest recorded living thing on earth. A millennium older than the Giant Sequoia trees in the nearby Sierra, many are well over 2,000 years old and the “Methuselah” tree in Schulman Grove is dated at more than 4,773 years old.

In the first picture below, you can see me sitting next to one of the trees.

There was a campground up there, and I stayed the night. The views were quite stunning.

I also camped at Bishop Creek Campground, which was free during the winter months. Naturally, I had it all to myself.

I also found some hot springs called The Ditch, and spend many hours soaking in them on a couple of occasions. My skin still itched on occasion from The Shingles I’d suffered with in the spring of 2015, and I found that hot springs were one of the best things to calm down the damaged nerve endings.

There is a climbing area called The Buttermilks, and I drove in to there and spent a couple of nights. Then a storm came in, and I decided to find an area that was a little easier to access.

So I moved to an area near Bishop that was public lands, but had easy access. It was near to the volcanic tablelands, which were fascinating in themselves. I went for a drive one day, and explored some petroglyphs, there were many sites.

It was now March 9, and I was ready to explore just a little further north and was giving a lot of thought about where I wanted to go next. I had a job lined up in May in Colorado, so I only had six or seven weeks left, and wanted to make sure I made the best of every minute and mile.

I hope you have enjoyed these images.

I’ll continue with my travels soon.

Until then…Happy Trails

Roxy ~ A NomadforNature

https://nomadfornature.wordpress.com/

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

2 responses to “March 2016–Part 1 ~ Eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains

  1. Yeah, beatiful area. Too bad a person could not set up a wall tent & stay for awhile. But government would never allow that.

    Like

    • I personally have a hard time staying in one spot for long…it can get boring… I think in some ways I’m glad we are forced to move on. I notice that in places that are not monitored, often people settle for a long time and it turns into a homeless camp, with trash scattered around, and temporary but often ugly structures, etc. Another problem is that some people HOG the best spots (especially those folks that have two vehicles), so the rest of us don’t get a chance. There are exceptions of course, but this is just what I’ve seen in my adventures over the past 20+ years of camping and Nomading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

