Feb 2016–Part 10 ~ Alabama Hills, CA

This is the continuation of my travels in early 2016.

After leaving behind the super bloom in Death Valley, I drove west, and found myself confronted with a wall of mountains that seemed to go on forever. They run north to south and are 400 miles long, and approximately 70-miles wide from east to west.

I often travel without really looking on the map at what lays ahead, and so I was stunned by this view, and then my attention was drawn to those hummocks of rock and sand in the middle of the picture above. They looked quite fascinating to me, so when I arrived in the town of Lone Pine I enquired about them at the Visitor Center, and learned that there was plenty of free camping a short drive up Whitney Portal Road, that leads directly from downtown Lone Pine. This is also the road that leads part way up to Mount Whitney, and by some is considered a dangerous road, depending on conditions. But the road was closed due to snow conditions at the higher elevations, so I didn’t get to travel it all the way up.

The rocky hills are called the Alabama Hills, and if they look a little bit familiar to you it might be because you have seen them in several movies, such as Gunga Din, Rawhide and How the West was Won, to name a few. There is a brochure available that takes you on a tour of all the movies sites, you can download it here Movie History in the Alabama Hills. I’m not a huge movie buff, but I did visit a couple of the sites.

I spent about a week in the Alabama Hills. It’s a short drive from town, and the sunsets and sunrises were simply breathtaking.

There were also a lot of flowers blooming, but they were very tiny, and it was hard to avoid treading on them. Thankfully there were a lot of rocks to hop on instead.

If you hover over the images, you can see what they are. I’m not going to say anything else, instead I’m just going to let you sit back and enjoy these images.

I also made a video of my time along the eastern Sierra Mountains, please click here to view: A Nomadic (unplanned) visit to the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

I hope you have enjoyed these pictures.

This is the life!

Until next time…enjoy as many sunsets and sunrises as you can, in as many places as you can, as often as you can.

Roxy ~ a Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

4 responses to “Feb 2016–Part 10 ~ Alabama Hills, CA

Leave a Reply

