Feb 2016-Part 7 ~ A Nomadic Valentines Day Sunset (Anza Borrego to Joshua Tree)

If you would prefer to see this as a video (with a recording I made that night) click here: https://youtu.be/r-vtuku6luk

DSC01827

In this post I continue my travels in February 2016.

On February 14, I left Anza Borrego State Park, and drove north towards Joshua Tree National Park. Not being one to drive fast and miss everything, I tend to take my time, stop often, and generally don’t get very far.

I stopped somewhere along the way to find out what my options were for boon docking in Joshua Tree National Park, and there were a number of places but all were a bit of a drive off the main road. I knew there was some free camping spots just south of J-Tree, but they were also close to the interstate and noisy, so I just kept going and hoped to find a place in a quieter spot.

Below ~ Getting closer to Joshua Tree National Park. I’m pretty sure that is part of the Trilobite Wilderness, I’d love to explore up there a bit.

Just before I entered J-Tree, I found a narrow two-track road that led towards the Trilobite Wilderness, and decided to drive up it.

After about a mile (or less), I found a camping spot on the top of a steep hill with breathtaking views all around, and decided to stay the night.

Traveling as I was, I’d lost track of the date and hadn’t even realized it was Valentines Day until I got an email from my Dad sending his love.

I suppose I could have felt a little lonely once I realized what day it was, but instead I felt very lucky to be in such a beautiful place, with such a gorgeous sunset, even on my own. I’ve spent so much time alone in wild places over the past 11-years, that the loneliness of it doesn’t effect me quite the way it used to. I’ve learned to enjoy and appreciate the beauty around me, and to explore the area and focus on the small things, rather than thinking about being alone so much. I’ve learned to find comfort in the vastness, and accept the wild creatures around me as companions. It is a beautiful place to be, this place of solitude in nature.

The next day I drove through the Mojave National Preserve…I was on my way to Death Valley.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

DSC01883

In part three of my travels in February 2016, I’ll tell you what happened on my way to Death Valley.

There are times things don’t always go as planned (well, as a Nomad, plans are really like Jello anyway). Part of the dance, the journey, the adventure, is learning to adapt and to go with the flow, and make the most of an unplanned situation.

Until next time,

Embrace the Dance…and Happy Trails,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

Leave a Reply

