Society Trap

Do What You Love Because Society Is a Trap, and Work Is Meaningless – by Joe Rogan

 

Society Trap

I found a video on You Tube some time ago that want to share with you; It’s about Society, and jobs, and the need for stuff.

It’s about The Society Trap that most Americans and many others around the world are caught in. Many don’t even see it as a trap, but I feel that Joe has hit the nail right on the head. This is exactly how I feel about Society and Capitalism.

I didn’t always feel this way. I used to work 40-hours a week, and struggle every month to make my house payment and pay the bills (I owned a house when I was twenty years old). I saved hard to have a one or two week vacation once a year. I lived for those TWO WEEKS where I could get away from the daily ho hum of my minimal life. The same job (which I didn’t like) the same co-workers (most of whom I didn’t like, or didn’t like me), the same clubs and pubs, the same streets, the same pattern week after week after week. This was when I lived in England (as a young woman), and when I lived in Indiana (20 or so years ago); my days were just an endless repeat, like a stuck record.

In 1997 I broke away from that kind of lifestyle and lived in a tent for a summer,  and since then have slowly moved in a direction that Society doesn’t really approve of. Don’t get me wrong; when I work, I work hard and pay my taxes, I stay clean and I’m honest, trustworthy, kind, compassionate, and I’m far from being a criminal. I care about the environment, and practice leave-no-trace ethics, I don’t steal, or do anything illegal other than exceed the speed limit by 2mph every once in a blue moon  Smile. These changes haven’t happened over night, but now that I’m here, I love it. There are times when I feel caught, trapped or stuck in one place, but I usually break away after a while. The times I get stuck in one place for a few months are usually because of the need for money to live off, right now though, it’s mostly while I get my injuries taken care of. However, I’m secure in the knowledge that I can leave at any time, within minutes of making the decision. I don’t have to stay here. I can leave tomorrow if I wish. That is about as close to being free as I can get at this time in my life.

About a year ago my parents asked me what I was going to do when I got old. They pointed out that it would be hard for me to sleep in my car at –12 F in the Colorado mountains, and that I couldn’t do it forever. I replied “Yes, it would be hard to live in my vehicle in those temperatures when I’m old (heck, it’s hard now), but who says I have to stay here. I can go anywhere I want to in the States, or even the world. I could live in a mud hut in Africa if I wish.” That is thinking outside the box. None of us has to stay stuck where we are (well, there might be the odd exception, like prisoners in jail and a few other exceptions and circumstances), but most people could leave their current location or situation, once they learned how to face their fears and dig out the courage to take one step outside of their comfort zone. It only takes one step to start on a new road…even alone.

I understand that it’s hard for some people to live this way, and I understand that most people can’t do it. Indeed, if everyone did it, it probably wouldn’t go over very well with our Governments. In order for us all to the live a lifestyle where we have what we need, and STILL have a life well lived, Society itself would have to change. There are some very intelligent people creating plans for a new way of living, but it isn’t going to happen anytime soon, and it won’t happen at all unless more people start thinking outside THE BOX, and admit that Society as we know it has a serious problem, and is falling apart very quickly.

Here is the link to Joe Rogan’s video… I hope you enjoy it, and I hope you take a moment to think it over.

Society Trap by Joe Rogan

And as I often say… don’t be afraid to think outside the box, your brains won’t fall out…

Until next time,

Waking up in the morning to the sound of wild turkeys running by my bedroom window. They are so close, I can hear them scuffle the dirt ~ This is the life.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

Please visit my store – I’ll be adding more products soon…I’m afraid I’ve been a bit side tracked lately by a series of events that have been very hard to deal with. I’ll be sharing all of that in my next post.

 

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

 

This post was first published on – http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “Society Trap

  1. Beautiful post, Roxy. We get Only one life, as far as I know. I gotta live my life and seek what is life-giving for me and move away from things and people that suck the joy out of my life. Your post was a timely reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

