Hayden Valley Sunrise–Yellowstone National Park by Roxy Whalley

The alarm went off around 4:00 am, and outside the rain slashed against the windows of the park service housing I was staying in while visiting a ranger friend.

It was October, and very cold outside. Rain slashed against the blacktop as I drove to my chosen location along The Yellowstone River. Clouds hung low, and I feared that they might blot out the sun, but I still parked in my chosen spot and got my tripod and camera ready…just in case.

And then it happened…the sun rose and the clouds parted just enough to let the sun through, and the light reflected on the Yellowstone River and bounced back to the underside of the clouds in colors of red, orange, yellow, purple, maroon and gold, and many shades in-between.

I took many shots, but this one is my favorite because of the small flock of geese that are flying over. Although I did use a filter on this shot, I haven’t edited or enhanced it in any other way.

To fully appreciate the depth and color of this image it is is best viewed full size…click on the image below to view it in a larger format, and please take a moment to give this image a LIKE on my web page (Tranquil Light Photography) if you like it. The like (thumbs up) button, and heart (favorite) buttons, can be found above the heading in the top right hand corner of the web page. Voting with a like or a favorite helps me to sell my images by letting the search engines know I exist.

Thanks for taking a look at this image on my web page, and please feel free to share, share, share, any way you choose.

 

 

Remember to savor the journey, and take time to enjoy the sunrise…

Bye for now,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature and Tranquil Light Photography

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

www.TranquilLightPhotography.com/

Leave a Reply

