Feb 2016 Part 2 – Slab City ~ The Tanks!

As you drive into Slab City from the tiny town of Niland, CA., you may notice the abandoned water tanks on the right side of the road, before you reach .

One day a group of my new friends and I decided to check them out, and I was truly impressed with the artwork done by Christina Angelina. The images were so real, and had such depth, I felt as though I could sink into those deep, lifelike eyes; eyes that followed me as I walked around the narrow rim at the top of the water tank. You can view a short video which shows more of the artwork located at/near Slab City (artwork I didn’t get to see) by Christina Angelina and Ease One Artists here: DesertUSA-Christina & Ease One.

The artwork by Christina is obviously the most famous, but there is plenty of unique artwork around The Tanks and all over Slab City. While walking back from The Tanks we came across some sculptures made from trash…in a future post I will cover the artwork at East Jesus, and tell you a little more about what it was like to stay at Slab City for ten days

DSC01431DSC01432DSC01434

 

DSC01438

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. (Links are good for 24-hours after you click a link, please return to this blog to enter Amazon again after one day).

DSC01440DSC01443DSC01447DSC01448DSC01453DSC01455DSC01456IMG_4043

I have made a short You Tube video of The Tanks (with music)….click here to view it: Slab City – The Tanks by Roxy aka Nomad for Nature

I still have plenty to share about Slab City, one of the most unique places I’ve visited while I’ve been living in the United States.

Until next time, remember to Savor the Journey…

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

One response to “Feb 2016 Part 2 – Slab City ~ The Tanks!

  1. Pingback: Feb 2016 Part 4–Yup, More on The Slabs | Nomad for Nature·

Leave a Reply

