Jan 2016 Part 5–Fortuna Pond

After leaving the Cibola National Wildlife Reserve, I decided to go south to Yuma, AZ, on the border of Mexico. I’d heard that some people from the Rubber Tram Rendezvous would be there, so I drove south to Yuma, then found Fortuna Pond, just a little east and north of Yuma.

When I arrived most of my friends had already left, but I managed to find a nice spot by the pond, and away from the noisy generators. The pond was very small, and it was lined all the way around with campers and fishermen.

There was plenty of wildlife, which was a pleasant surprise given all the activity around the lake. While I was there I learned that a few years back some campers had decided to dump all their BLACK water into the pond and it had to be cleaned up because it was  major hazmat problem. This saddens me immensely, I can’t imagine doing something like that even in a junk yard, let alone a precious piece of wildlife habitat shared by so many campers and so much wildlife. I hope they caught the culprits and put them in jail.

I enjoyed walking around the pond and watching the wildlife, and exchanging pleasantries with other campers, and during the day I went into Yuma a few times to work online, and do errands. In the evenings I joined friends around a campfire, or just sat and watched the reflections of lamps and fires ripple on the water.

There were times though that it was very noisy, and I only stayed for three (?) nights because of the noise. There were (naturally) generators running, and there was a guy fishing who played oldies music and rock music really loud, all day and all night. That was annoying enough, but there were also crop dusting planes flying over, usually right at dusk, and they were so close to the pond, I know that all those chemicals were drifting onto us (the campers) and were polluting the pond.

Despite all that, there was still plenty of wildlife, and the sunsets were beautiful. One of the things that came to mind while I was visiting the Yuma area, were how close the crops were to the edge of the road. The vegetables that butted up almost all the way to  the highway, looked disgusting, and I mused about how bad they have to be for a persons health. Not only were they being sprayed with chemicals, but they were also taking in the pollution from thousands of cars driving by each day.

THANKS FOR SUPPORTING THIS SITE BY ACCESSING AMAZON VIA ANY OF THE LINKS IN THE NOMAD STORE $. I’LL MAKE A SMALL PERCENTAGE ON YOUR PURCHASE AND IT WON’T COST YOU ANYTHING, EVEN IF YOU BUY SOMETHING DIFFERENT.

I stayed at Fortuna Pond for a few nights, then spent another night a little further north at Mittry Lake, where I met up with a friend, but then realized it was time to move on again.

This time I would be going north, to the notorious Slab City…aka The Slabs. I’m sure you’ve heard a lot about The Slabs, and probably none of it was good, but I can tell you there was a lot of good about that place… so why not sign up for email notifications of my posts, so you don’t miss anything.

 

Until next time…Remember to Savor the Journey,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “Jan 2016 Part 5–Fortuna Pond

  1. I was at Mittry Lake in December. I love the wildlife you got to see, but the noise and pollutants – air and chemical – make me think I’ll pass on Fortuna when back in that area again. Nice post. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

