Conquer the Fear of Traveling Alone

11250919_10152864566521637_8751227218449379427_n

I have often been asked by people, especially women (but men too), if I’m scared to travel on my own. The fear they feel of traveling outside their comfort zone, such as their town, county or State, into the unknown on their own, seems to be the biggest thing holding them back.

I have always given them the same answer; to just take it one step at a time.

If you can drive just one mile (on your own) into unknown territory, then you can drive one more mile, then another.

If you can drive 10-separate miles, then you can drive ten more.

If you get scared, you already know that there is nothing to fear on the road behind you, and it’s now familiar ground, so you can always turn around and return to your safe place if you wish to.

However, if you can go 50-miles, you can go 50 more.

If you make it through one day, and one night (motel, hotel, or campground if you feel safer) you can make it through two days and two nights.

That is all it takes…one step at a time, or in this case, one mile at a time.

Don’t let fear hold you back from stepping outside your comfort zone.

Try it, just one mile, one hour, one bend, one town…decide which works for you, and do it!

You can always turn around… but… maybe you wont, perhaps you’ll keep on going like me.

On that note, I’d like to leave you with one of my favorite poems (below). I first read this poem and carried it with me when I left England in 1987 and came to the United States and started a new life on my own.

In 1996 I left my (then) abusive husband, and started traveling and camping on my own in order to escape him for good, and when I was sorting through my things in order to make room to live in my car, I came across this poem again. The paper was in tatters, so I wrote it in the journal I started when I left him. It helped me to stay strong during those tough times when I found myself on the road completely alone, with no idea where I was going, or what the future held.

Perhaps you too will find inspiration in these words.

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

* * * * * * * *

flying-dreams_thumb1

Walk your path one step at a time~

with courage, faith and determination.

Keep your head up, and cast you dreams to the stars.

Soon your steps will become firm,

and your footing will be solid again.

A path that you never imagined will

become the most comfortable direction you

could have ever hoped to follow.

Keep your belief in yourself,

and walk into your new journey.

You will find it magnificent,

spectacular,

and beyond your wildest imaginings.

* * *

by Vicki Silvers

4 responses to “Conquer the Fear of Traveling Alone

  1. Pingback: Society Trap | Nomad for Nature·

  2. Pingback: Society Trap by Joe Rogan | Nomad for Nature·

  3. inertia. the first is always the hardest. i’m an old. 71. we used to hitchhike where we wanted to go. we were freaks. you would have called us hippies. we did not call our selves that. google furry freak brothers.

    are there places to fish? i live in indiana. the only person that i know that moves around is a guy from iowa. he has a system where he would camp at boat landings and along creeks/rivers.

    peaceout.

    ice cream. raz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

