Carrying Firewood

(Originally posted on March 18, 2014)

 

Update – February 2016 ~ I just wanted to let everyone know that the rack is working like a charm. I’ve been hauling firewood around up there on and off for a couple of years now, even at speeds of 75 mph and in high winds, and there have been no problems. (It also stood up to a wind storm with gusts so strong, it blew a huge hauling truck of the highway and demolished it).

I built the rack with 3/4 “ plywood, some scrap 2X4, and an assortment of screws, bolts, and washers.

Instructions:

 

I used the track that is already there to affix the rack to Mitzi, by finding washers that slid in the track perfectly without being able to pop out. Then I found bolts with a head that would also fit in the track, through the washer, then made my frame, and drilled holes all the way through the 2×4 and the plywood, and bolted it on top. It can be removed fully assembled. You can affix any kind of carrying device on top that you wish. I’m using bungee cords in addition to the galvanized brackets I made to hold the crates on.

 

P1090673

 

Happy Trails

 

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

Leave a Reply

