Part 5 – Settling In

Part 5 of An Attempt to Live a Normal Life – (Originally posted on my (then) ‘Homeless and Female’ blog in 2013).

In the previous post you saw some pictures of my living space when I was living in Mitzi, and then my living space when I moved into the cabin.

I know that the cabin is small, but it seemed HUGE to me. When Mitzi was my home, I just reached for everything from my bed, including my toilet, but in the cabin I had to get up and walk every time I wanted something.

After I unpacked that first day, and cleaned the cabin, I found myself walking around in circles wondering what-the-heck to do! I asked my friends “What do people do in their homes to pass time?” I was having a very hard time with it. They told me they watched TV, or cooked, or visited friends on Facebook, or read, or cleaned, or had hobbies like knitting (Oh My!) But I didn’t have a TV, or internet access, and I’m NOT the knitting type, and I can only read, cook and eat so much. My cooking is usually quick and efficient, and I make very little mess, because it was easier that way when camping and now it’s just habit. So I often found myself walking from one room to another, moving an item around to make it look even more perfect. I’ve read that pottering around, is an essential part of home-making for a woman, but my goodness, there has to be a limit! I mean, I barely had anything to move around, except my body, from room, to room, to room.

I had a hard time dealing with all that space. I guess it was good that I had a full-time job, and was working until 9:00 PM some nights, because living in a cabin was a little boring. I know I should have been out hiking like I would if I were living in Mitzi, but after being on my feet for a full eight hours a day (we weren’t allowed to sit down), I just didn’t have the energy to hike. I would go home and pass out! I suppose that is why its so important to have a TV when living in a home, so a person can sit down, and be entertained while doing nothing. A chance to rest before going to bed, then going to work again. I couldn’t read, because my eyes were too tired from staring at thousands of miniscule numbers all day. As I didn’t have TV, and really couldn’t afford to have cable, internet or anything like that, I invested in some bird seed and would sit outside and talk to the birds. That of course, is what I would do if I were living in Mitzi and it was the end of the day (talk to the animals that is, not feed them). The only difference is that I’d be sitting in my camp chair on grass in the national forest, instead of on a deck outside a cabin. The other thing I did was go to the coffee shop a lot, and sit by the pond and watch the birds there. I didn’t even want to visit with people, I’d usually had enough of them by the end of the work day.

I struggled with the fact that I was working my ass-off to pay the rent, and then coming home and passing out on work days. Then spending one of my two day’s off work in the coffee shop using their internet, while I recovered from work, and was only having one day a week, enjoying the outdoors and hiking. For what? Basically I was working my ass off, to have a home, that I spent no time in, and when I was in it, I was just sleeping or watching a movie (which I did just well in the back of Mitzi). I would be tired if I were living in Mitzi too, but I’d have $450 a month more in the bank, plus the money for other bills, and wouldn’t just be throwing my money away.

You might say that at least I had a bathroom, and running water to use. True, except I was just as frugal with that as I was when living in Mitzi, mainly because I had to buy that water and pay to have it delivered, so I was very careful with it. I got a dishpan, and would save all the dishwater and catch any running water, then use it to flush the toilet. Showers were limited to three minutes max, once (maybe twice) a week.

And so the months passed in this manner… I worked through July, August, and some of September, questioning my sanity. Every day I would ask myself, why am I doing this? Handing over the rent check on the first of each month really made me cringe. My cabin slowly gained a few more items, so the echo wasn’t as loud, I got some dishes instead of the two stainless steel plates, and some pans. The only time I really use any of these things, is when I have a friend over, and we really cook. They are there more to fill in space and for others to use, than for myself.

2013-08182013-08232013-07372013-0630

And then it all changed…

I live in the mountains of Colorado, and in September 2013, disaster struck!

Like I said in one of my previous posts, nothing is constant, the only thing we can be sure of is that things will change.

Guess you’ll have to read the next post to find out what happened then…

So until next time,

Not homeless right now, but getting closer; Homeless Gal

Originally written and posted in October 2013 on my (then) ‘Homeless and Female’ blog.

~~~

Looking back on the year 2013, The Year of the Floods, and enjoying a nomadic lifestyle all the more because of it,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

One response to “Part 5 – Settling In

Leave a Reply

