Part 4 – From This…to This…Upgrading to a Real Home!

Part 4 of An Attempt to Live a Normal Life – (Originally posted on my (then) ‘Homeless and Female’ blog in 2013).

Before you judge my life, my past or my character, walk in my shoes, walk the path I have traveled, live my sorrows, my doubts, my fear, my pain & my laughter… Remember everyone has a story, when you have lived my life then you can judge me… (by Hemant Smarty).

This is how I was living until I got my cabin. Everything in the back of my vehicle was perfectly organized, so that I could cook, clean up, bathe, change clothes, sit in bed to read, write, watch movies, and even do my daily stretches if it was too cold to go outside (-10 could be considered too cold in winter). I used the top of the cooler and the blue box as counter tops, and my food and utensils were stored inside them. By bed went down one side of the vehicle, and was just long enough for me to lay flat, if I were an inch taller than 5’ 1”, it wouldn’t have worked. The biggest worry I had was that I might spill something onto my sleeping bag while cooking.

DSC_8890_thumbDSC_8891_thumb

This is what I had about a week or so after I moved into my cabin in July 2013, and had visited the thrift store a couple of times. The mattress on the floor, is actually my bed from Mitzi:

2013-0642---Inside-my-cabin_thumb2013-0645_thumb2013-0647_thumb

As you can see, I have a living room a bedroom (it’s an open-concept cabin) a kitchen and a bathroom. It is adorable, and more than big enough for a person like myself.

Shortly after moving in, someone gave me a chair, and a lamp, and then other bits have dribbled in from thrift store purchases, or give-aways. My home is still uncluttered six months later, and my camp chair, which is a very low-to-the-ground collapsible chair, is still my favorite chair. I use it to watch movies and read, and sit in front of the wood stove with my cup of tea.

Like I’ve said in the two previous posts, don’t give up on me now that I have a home… the one thing we can be sure about in life is that nothing remains the same, things are always changing, life has a way of throwing curve-balls. Stick with me as the story unfolds. Perhaps you will gain an understanding of how people go from having a home, to living in their vehicle again.

Until next time…

Homeless Gal

Originally written and posted in October 2013 on my (then) ‘Homeless and Female’ blog and re-posted in May 2016 on Nomad for Nature.

Looking back on the year 2013, The Year of the Floods, and enjoying a nomadic lifestyle all the more because of it,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

