Part 2 – Finding a Place to Live

Part 2 of An Attempt to Live a Normal Life – (Originally posted on my (then) Homeless and Female blog in 2013).

I think it’s time for me to go back in time, and tell you a bit about what has happened in my life this past summer.

Shortly after posting Part 1 ~ Struggling with the Thought of Paying Rent, I managed to get a summer job. However, having an actual year-round home, meant having a year-round job. So I started putting feelers out for one, but didn’t hold out much hope for success, as year-round jobs in this small town are highly coveted and very rare.

As luck would have it, one of my ex-bosses from when I worked for Xanterra Parks one summer, told me that the place she worked needed full-time help. This store (A Christmas shop), used to be owned by a lady who’s house I used to clean, and so I had the prior owner, and an ex-boss giving me excellent references, so I got the interview, and then I got the job. The pay was $9.00 an hour, year-round, full-time.

I was in! After living in this town for the best part of 16-years, I had my first full-time, year-round.

It seemed like the stars, or the Universe, or whatever you believe in, were in my favor and working for me. It seemed like it was meant to be!  So, with financial security in hand I made the decision to get the cabin, and try living a normal, more socially acceptable life, bills and all. Needless to say, this made my parents (who live in England) very happy, and they finally breathed a sigh of relief knowing that I was finally settling down. I was 51-years old when this change occurred, and I know that my parents felt that my lifestyle was not suitable for someone my age, and especially a female.

The cabin was available for rent on July 1, 2013, and I’d get a couple of paychecks before then, which would allow me to save up the first months rent. The sweet little lady who owns the cabin waived the deposit and a lease for me, so it would be rented on a month-by-month basis, with no commitment to stay for six-months, or a year, and I felt better knowing that if it didn’t work for me for some reason, I could leave after giving her reasonable notice.

And so on July l, 2013, I became a home dweller…

BUT WAIT, don’t give up on me! because this story gets more and more interesting, and I will tell it bit-by-bit over the next few weeks.

Until then,

Paying rent… and experiencing all the struggles that go with it…

Homeless Gal  ~ Originally written and posted in October 2013 on my (then) ‘Homeless and Female’ blog and re-posted in May 2016 on Nomad for Nature.

Looking back on the year 2013, The Year of the Floods, and enjoying a nomadic lifestyle all the more because of it,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

One response to “Part 2 – Finding a Place to Live

Leave a Reply

