Part 3 – A Home of My Own

Part 3 of An Attempt to Live a Normal Life – (Originally posted on my (then) ‘Homeless and Female’ blog in 2013).

Key

In my last post you learned that in June of 2013, I found a full-time, year-round job, and decided to try living a more normal, socially acceptable life. That is; work 5-days, 40+ hours a week, and spend almost every penny I earn on rent and other bills that come with having a home and paying rent.

Most of my friends and family were very happy that I had made this commitment, and joined the ranks of people who lived a set life, with a set schedule, and had a bunch of monthly bills to pay.

I wasn’t so sure…

The cabin I moved into on July 1, 2013 is adorable. It is at the end of a narrow dirt road, with plenty of space around it, open ranch space, mountains and pine forests behind me, and my only immediate neighbor is my landlady. There is plenty of wildlife and views! Boy… do I have views! mountains, rocky out-cropping’s, the town below, a lake that I pass by every time I leave the cabin.

All that for just $450.00 a month (unbelievable price for this area) + cost of water delivery (the cabin has a cistern so water has to be delivered). In the winter there would be $50 a month extra added to the rent for electricity (or more if I used too much electric heat), and the cost of providing my own firewood for the wood stove (the main heat source), or some other form of heat if I could come up with another option.

I was excited about having a home to call my own. I imagined myself coming home from a long day of work, sipping a glass of wine on the deck, taking hot baths, cooking healthy meals, having friends over, and so on.

When I moved in, I had very little to put in the cabin, and it almost echoed with emptiness. I put my 3 knives and forks in the drawer, along with a handful of kitchen utensils, my camp pans, my two stainless steel plates, and two mugs (one for coffee one for tea) and a few other cooking items. A friend gave me some hangers, and I hung my clothes up in the huge built-in closet, along with my coats, sleeping bags, blankets and anything else I could hang on a hanger, and still only filled half the closet. I stored my other camping and hiking gear away, and put my camp bed on the living room floor to use as a couch, then I looked at my watch, and saw that all of this had taken about an hour.

So, with time to spare, I set to cleaning the cabin.

That night I slept in a real bed, with sheets no less! It was wonderful to be able to stretch out my legs, roll over without hitting a cooler, and to sit up without banging my head on the ceiling.

I was in my own little home… it felt weird, but there I was finally, ready to see if my dreams of having a home were really going to be as wonderful as I imagined.

It’s now December, and I’m still in my little cabin. However, a lot has happened and I just might earn the title of homeless again… so stick with me as there is more to tell.

Bye for now,

Enjoying some aspects of having a home, at least for now,

Homeless Gal ~ Originally written and posted in October 2013 on my (then) ‘Homeless & Female’ blog and re-posted in May 2016 on Nomad for Nature.

~~~~

May I take this opportunity to thank you for following me, and sharing my blog. In part I write this blog with hopes of it reaching a few souls that have very closed minds about homelessness, and possibly helping them to see it from another perspective. In 2011 it was reported that one-third of Americans were only one paycheck away from homelessness, that is about 8.6 million people! It is easy for someone who has money to ignore this struggle, and to blame the individuals, but many of these good people are hard working, sensible, and honest. It is often society, capitalism, the government and many other aspects that have put them in this position. More and more people are choosing alternative lifestyles, or ending up on the streets, and I hope this blog will help just a few more people to understand why. So please share it any way you can, and remember this quote;

Before you judge my life, my past, or my character, walk in my shoes, walk the path I have traveled, live my sorrows, my doubts, my fear, my pain & my laughter… Remember everyone has a story, when you have lived my life then you can judge me… (by Hemant Smarty).

~~~~

Looking back on the year 2013, The Year of the Floods, and enjoying a nomadic lifestyle all the more because of it,

Roxy ~ A Nomad for Nature

 

http://NomadforNature.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

